Making the ‘Saturday Roast’ a thing! – Bread Street Kitchen | Dubai

IMG_2933

When I heard that Gordon Ramsay was bringing the ‘Saturday Roast’ to Dubai I just couldn’t wait to try it out. I mean nothing reminds me of home more than a good old Yorkshire Pud!

The Bread Street Kitchen is Gordon Ramsay’s newest restaurant in Dubai, bringing a welcomed taste of home to the desert… oh and did I mention, it is located in the Atlantis on the Palm!

As you may or may not know, here in Dubai our weekend falls on a Friday and Saturday meaning we miss out on the famous Sunday Roast each week. Instead, I spend my Sundays at work flicking through Facebook and feeling immensely jealous whilst trying to force down my salad (when you live in constant summer it kind of means a constant summer body is required… apparently!)

Anyway, Gordon clearly heard our cries for help and all things smothered in gravy and he introduced the ‘Saturday Roast’! Surely if anyone can change food tradition it’s Gordon Ramsay?!

The restaurant has a lovely laid back feel with huge bottles of wine on display, a little separate ice cream bar and some quirky lighting to top it all off.

We ordered a large bottle of water to share and some cocktails (because why not!). We were also given some really tasty bread to start.

P1090044

I have never been to a Gordon Ramsay restaurant before which is terrible seen as I love his shows so much! However, with a fancy restaurant you expect fancy portion sizes – and by fancy portion sizes I mean food that sits perfectly in the centre of your plate and is gone in two mouthfuls.

We both ordered the beef and when it arrived I was pleasantly surprised at how much food there was and how delicious it looked, there was even a side of cauliflower cheese!

P1090057

To say I am from Yorkshire, I was disappointed in my Roast eating efforts… I couldn’t finish it all! I went in there with every intention of clearing my plate but I was just too full!… Obviously worse things could have happened!

I had no room left for dessert however, when booking I had told them we were celebrating a birthday (We actually were, I didn’t just make that bit up!) So when we asked for the bill we were also brought a delicious chocolate mousse cake with a little candle! This was a really nice surprise and of course we made sure we forced the cake down (first world problems, I know!) It was so worth feeling sick for!

P1090073

P1090060

The Saturday Roast is very reasonably priced, for Dubai at least – if you start converting the price in to Pounds you might have a bit of a shock! Especially when you can get a ‘fill your plate until it’s over-flowing’ Toby Carvery for about £6.00 back in England… But this is Dubai and Gordon Ramsey so expect to pay a ‘little’ bit more!

 

P1090077

So yeah, the Saturday Roast is now a thing and I think you will find it’s now you that is missing out!

Laura x

Follow my adventures:

Facebooklauraloutravels
Twitter@lauralou_x
InstagramLaura Lou Travels
YouTubeLaura Lou

P1090080

Check out the Bread Street Kitchen website here

 

 

15 thoughts on “Making the ‘Saturday Roast’ a thing! – Bread Street Kitchen | Dubai

  1. thetravelpockets says:

    Omg, I would love to visit Gordon Ramsay’s restaurant. So glad to hear that it wasn’t a disappointment and that it was reasonably priced 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. GeekGirlGoes says:

    Oh My God – that looks fab! I’m a northerner too (Lancashire though-!) and I miss my sunday roasts out here in Japan. I did manage to find a nice British bar in Tokyo though for a roast on Christmas Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanna says:

    That roast looks great, I am not from England but living here and I love when my friends invite me for a roast. I have never been to a Gordon Ramsey restaurant but I would love to go, as I used to be a fan of Hell’s Kitchen and I know how much passion goes into every single one of this restaurants.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. BeeWanderlust says:

    Loved this! I lived in Yorkshire for three years and know how much a roast is needed! I also did not know that Dubai have a different weekend which I find incredibly interesting! I love finding out little things like that (: so thank you for sharing and I now know one more thing I didn’t 10 minutes ago!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. @NomadVivien says:

    What a nice experience, I didn’t know Saturday Roast is a thing but now I do. I wonder if the desserts options have gluten-free, the chocolate mousse looks so delicious:) I hope the birthday celebration was great and everyone enjoyed themselves!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment